About TP Fielden

In 2016 Christopher Wilson signed an unprecedented four-book deal with HQ, a new imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, to produce the English Riviera Murders – a series of retro mysteries featuring Miss Dimont, fiesty chief reporter on a local Devon newspaper.

Humorous but with a pro-feminist vein, the novels chronicle the adventures of former Naval Intelligence officer Huguette 'Judy' Dimont in her new career as a journalist on the Riviera Express, based in the fictional town of Temple Regis. There are murders aplenty and intrigues galore.

riviera express coverThe first, The Riviera Express, was published in early 2017 to great acclaim.

“TP Fielden is a fabulous new voice,” wrote best-selling novelist Wendy Holden in the Daily Mail. “His dignified, clever heroine is a compelling new character.”
“A fabulously satisfying addition to the canon of vintage crime,” — Daily Express.
“Unashamedly cosy, with gentle humour and a pleasingly eccentric amateur sleuth,” — The Guardian.
“Highly amusing,” — London Evening Standard.
“Tremendous fun,” — Independent.
“A golden age mystery,” — Sunday Express.

Resort CoverThe second book in the series, Resort To Murder, was published in the winter of 2017.

Allison Pearson, choosing her Books of the Year 2017 for the Sunday Telegraph, wrote : “Aunts will adore TP Fielden's Resort To Murder, a fabulous Miss Dimont mystery.”
“Formidable,” wrote Dominic Midgley in the Daily Express. “Fielden plots the rise of the women's movement via the Sisters Of Reason's direct action against beauty pageants. Indeed, the changing role of women in the post-war world is a theme that recurs throughout the book as the old order yearns for life back in 1939, while the new generation demands equality and change.”
“Must read,” — Sunday Express.
“Five stars. Brilliant!” — The Sun.
“A lot of fun,” wrote best-selling author Deborah (300 Days of Sun) Lawrenson, “Great period detail and insights into how newspapers used to work. I'll certainly be looking out for the next!”
“A captivating journey back in time to the heyday of two wonderful traditions - the great British cosy detective story and the great British seaside holiday resort,” wrote When The Dead Cry Out author Hilary Bonner, former chairman of the Crime Writers Association. “Amusing and utterly charming, yet also full of intrigue.”
“From the first paragraph, Fielden’s heroine-sleuth, Miss Dimont, is captivating and contrary,” writes Death In Dulwich author Alice Castle. “She is a fully rounded character, with yards of backstory trailing behind her, waiting enticingly to be revealed, and the kind of gifted amateur detective that mystery lovers will take to their bosoms instantly.
“She is funny, she is feisty, she is a lot cleverer than anyone else within miles, but manages to be (mostly) modest with it.”

RESORT TO MURDER and THE RIVIERA EXPRESS (HQ/HarperCollins) are available in hardback and paperback at all good book stores, and Amazon.

to top