The Geddes Awards

Geddes Awards logo Oxford University's annual awards for journalism are named after Philip Geddes, a 24-year old Fleet Street journalist who died in the IRA bomb attack on Harrods department store in Knightsbridge in December 1983.

The purpose of the awards is to stimulate and encourage young journalists, and to provide financial and practical assistance as they take their first steps in their chosen profession. In the past three decades more than £250,000 has been awarded in grants and prizes by the Geddes Trustees to student journalists.

The annual Geddes Memorial, Lecture where the future of global communication is addressed by a major journalistic figure, has been delivered by, among others, Jon Snow (Channel 4 News), Ian Hislop (editor, Private Eye), Lionel Barber (editor, Financial Times), Lyse Doucet (chief international correspondent, BBC), Alan Rusbridger (former editor, The Guardian), Laura Kuenssberg (BBC political editor), Roger Alton (former editor-in-chief, The Observer and Guardian), Sir Peter Stothard (former editor, The Times) and Dr Philip Campbell (editor-in-chief, Nature).

Fundraising is ongoing. More details on the work of the Geddes Awards can be found at

Christopher Wilson is the co-founder and Emeritus Trustee of the Geddes Awards.